Voices and words weave sound waves and brain waves into a magic carpet for the imagination, which takes us on a fantastic dance around the city.

The publishing industry provides platforms for knowledge creation, trend observation, and cultural transmission; Taiwan is an especially prolific and creative environment for the literary arts in the Chinese language world. In 2013, to support the local publishing industry and literary scene, the Taiwan Cultural and Creativity Development Foundation held the first annual Wordwave Festival. Modeled on the Leipzig Reads program in the Leipzig Book Fair, Wordwave was inspired by the readers in Cuban cigar factories who have been reading to workers since the 19th century.

( from BBC )

At the festival, Chinese language literature takes center stage, supported by the arts and entertainment industries. Talent from theater, visual arts, film and television, technology, and creative industries come together to create an unique festival experience for the people who gather every year to “make word waves”. The festival aims to nurture Taiwan’s publishing industry and explore brand new ways of reading and listening in daily life.


In 2014, the first Translation across Frontiers Forum was held at the second annual Worldwave Festival. Translators at home and abroad were invited to share their translation experiences and discuss the visibility of Taiwanese literature on the international stage.

Bookstores and boutiques around Taipei and Kaohsiung also participated by holding in-house reading events to inject cultural vitality into the city.

Our Three-Part Mission

  • 1

    To build a cross-industry platform in order to establish a prosperous publishing ecosystem, and to create meaningful collaboration that compounds value.


  • 2

    To build a Mandarin-based international platform for intercultural exchange. Mandarin is the second most commonly spoken international language after English. At the Forum, exchanges between sinologists, translators, students and teachers help spread knowledge and ideas as well as a love of Mandarin Chinese around the world.


  • 3

    To make space for live reading in daily life, empowering readers and encouraging writers.
    For reading aloud to become part of our collective daily life would create a strong demand for original creative works and a solid foundation for the prosperity of our publishing industry.




Reading is personal: a girl or boy and a book constitute a world, whole and entire; but reading aloud is inter-personal. As authors read and readers listen, the human voice is like an electric wire, delivering jolts that open gates in our minds and link authors and listeners together. The Wordwave Festival has attracted more than 200,000 people, invited more than 250 celebrity readers, held 165 literary events, collaborated with 100 brands, and allowed for 172 books to be performed aloud. Every year, the festival expands our imaginations, building bridges between the written word and readers.


The Wordwave Festival is for everyone, from Taiwan to the world, from individuals to communities. It is also everywhere, from urban greens to radio stations. When people in every corner of the city start reading aloud, their voices, transforming and expanding, would make waves on which dreams may surf and over which the imagination might sail.

文字與聲音相遇的第一篇章-華文朗讀節

透過朗讀,在音與心之間牽起一條條情感的線,隨著上下震盪的想像,在朗讀者與聆聽者之間交織出一張張動人的網,以夢想之姿,在整座城市內翩翩起舞。

葛莉賽爾·瓦爾德斯-隆比雍,一位安詳的退休學校教師,已經在烏普曼雪茄工廠裡做了20年的正式朗讀者。 ( from BBC )

出版為引領知識創造、趨勢觀察、文化傳承的重要產業,台灣且是華文創作能量豐沛之地。自2013,財團法人台灣文創發展基金會以19世紀的古巴雪茄工廠朗讀員文化為靈感,並以行之有年的德國萊比錫書展朗讀節為師,舉辦了第一屆的華文朗讀節。以華文作家及其原創作品為活動核心,聯結影視娛樂界、表演藝術界、設計與視覺藝術界、科技及生活產業界,企圖將能量由單點發展為緊密的合作網絡,連結不同領域的人才繁榮出版產業,為台灣讀者開創新的閱聽模式且擁抱新閱讀的美好生活。


2014第二屆華文朗讀節啟動的譯動國界論壇,邀請國外譯作家出席交流,更是將華文文學作品的能見度提升至國際舞臺。北高雙城多家特色店家及藝文創據點陸續加入朗讀行列,為城市的靈魂,注入一股活力。

華文朗讀節的三個標竿

  • 跨界

    以出版產業為核心,建立跨界創價的平台 華文朗讀節不忘初衷,我們的核心在出版產業,願景在創造出版產業的集體繁榮。而跨界聯結其他產業共襄盛舉,則是創造更大價值的方法。


  • 跨國

    以華語文為核心,建立深度的國際交流平台 華語文即將成為第二國際語言,以華文為核心的知識創造,未來將會通過全球的漢學家與譯作家傳播全世界。透過譯動國界論壇及華語文學習為主軸之活動經營與國際譯作家及華語學生的群聚交流。


  • 跨場合

    使朗讀無所不在無所不能,成為鼓勵作家原創的平台 如果有一天,朗讀融入生活、蔚為風氣,成為一種無地不玩無時不樂的歡樂休閒,成為一種「國民時尚」,那時候,原創作品會更有出路,出版產業「集體繁榮」的基礎會更加穩固。




閱讀是獨立的,一個人、一本書,就可以是整個世界。朗讀則是互動的,當作家進入朗讀、讀者進入聆聽的狀態時,聲音就彷彿為雙方通了電,作家與讀者交流的大門也因此洞開。華文朗讀節至今吸引超過20萬人次參與、邀請超過250位名人朗讀、舉辦165場文學活動、與100個品牌進行跨界合作、累積172本的朗讀書籍。華文朗讀節開拓人們對閱讀的想像,讓最個人與私密的閱讀行為與靜態的文字,成為動態的風景,也是作品與讀者間最直接的交流。

華文朗讀節,一場全民的朗讀運動,從台北到高雄,從個人到集體,從草地到電台,當各式各樣的朗讀聲音在傳遞中不斷變形與擴大的同時,夢想也隨之在城市的各個角落裡不斷地馳騁、發酵、起飛。

朗讀是互動的,
當作家進入朗讀、讀者進入聆聽的狀態時,
聲音就彷彿為雙方通了電,
作家與讀者交流的大門也因此洞開。